SRAM GXP press fit BB - wavy washer busted...

luv2ride
luv2ride Posts: 2,367
edited March 2016 in Workshop
After reading comments on here about the need to regularly service GXP BBs I thought I'd just do the one on my CR1. A remarkably simple task, not exactly sure why I've never done it before! Only issue is the wavy washer on the non-drive side was busted into 4 pieces after I unscrewed the crank. Is this normally a sacrificial part, or is it likely it was overtightened when built up (not by me I hasten to add)?
Ordered a new one from Amazon for a tenner (!) although does include replacement bearing shields....slight play in cranks without it. :cry:
Titus Silk Road Ti rigid 29er - Scott Solace 10 disc - Kinesis Crosslight Pro6 disc - Scott CR1 SL - Pinnacle Arkose X 650b - Pinnacle Arkose singlespeed - Specialized Singlecross...& an Ernie Ball Musicman Stingray 4 string...

Comments

• Luv2ride wrote:
    After reading comments on here about the need to regularly service GXP BBs I thought I'd just do the one on my CR1. A remarkably simple task, not exactly sure why I've never done it before! Only issue is the wavy washer on the non-drive side was busted into 4 pieces after I unscrewed the crank. Is this normally a sacrificial part, or is it likely it was overtightened when built up (not by me I hasten to add)?
    Ordered a new one from Amazon for a tenner (!) although does include replacement bearing shields....slight play in cranks without it. :cry:
    Your post gives the impression it's gxp, it isn't if it's got a wobbly washer it's bb30. Overtightening will wreck the threads long before the washer is squashed unless the bb shell was machined too wide.
    fag packet style spacer would do a similar job if suitable thickness.