Handlebar recommendation?

BikeRyder
BikeRyder Posts: 16
edited March 2016 in Road beginners
Im new to road riding, not biking all together. Im 35 and have been riding the hills and mountains of my home town in wv as one of my earliest memories. I fixed my bikes myself and knew a lot about mtb when i was doing it. I moved to florida and guess what, no mountains. So on to the road. I bought a super good condition cannondale sr800, 1989, from someone who mechanically kept the bike in top notch condition. It runs like butter and it is what all who have recommended things to me was the right size. So, ive been terrorizing the streets on this cool old bike, then i stumbled upon a great deal on a 2006 allez, in my size. The allez is .5 cm longer on the toptubes than the cannondale. They feel terribly similAr in fit except the cannondale has a lower stem and the difference in ride follows, but still i like both the rides. The cannondale has a nitto olympia and the allez has the specialized drop bar and what a total difference in feel between the two. Now that i have something to compare it to, that cannondale just feels dangerous. Like a rocket with now stabilizers. The drops are borderline inaccessible and when in drop my forearms press on the top of the bar and very incomfortable. On the allez, the drops feel comfortable, accessible, my arms are free to steer, i can choose to be d my elbows and go lower or straighter arm it for alightly more upright.

1. So, what makes the allez bar so much more accessible in all positions?

2. Also, would you rather have a base model shimano dual pivot caliper brakes, or a well working 1989 single pivot 600 that seems to be flawless other than several years of road dust?

Comments

• dj58
    dj58 Posts: 2,217