Giant Talon 2

ChILd_ReBoRn
ChILd_ReBoRn Posts: 92
edited February 2016 in MTB buying advice
So.. here's my dillema.

I'm broke.. I can't afford to buy a "proper" bike by modern standards (29"), so I make do with what I have. I started out with a UMF hardy 3. That's a freeride/dirt frame, that was to small for me, but I rode it for a while. Then I ran into a sale, and bought a 21,5" pre 2008, frame, new old stock. When it arrived in the mail, it was.. well.. weird... tall but shorter than UMF, so I didn't really prosper much. Only viable option to buy a 29er just went bust today, so I'm stuck with 26" wheels, and I have to make the best out of them. I'm offered a 20" giant talon 2 frame under warranty for the next 6 years, and under 90 pounds. It's a lot of money here, but much less than an decent used 29" bike (400+ pounds)..

Is the frame worth it? Im an amateur XC rider, roughly 100 kg, and 187cm in height.

My inseam is 87cm, so the 20" frame should work...

I have rather decent components on my retro frame ( Full xt, howitzer drive, avid 185mm brakes, rs Tora coil fork, which should be my next big upgrade), and I would need to ride this bike for the next few years to come. I'm 35 years, and aint getting younger... but can I still have fun with the 26er... I believe I could, although, everybody around me says to bus a bigger bike (meaning 29"), but.. sadly.. that's out of the question...

what's your opinnion on that?

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    29ers aren't proper, or bigger, they are 29ers.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    29ers aren't proper or better, just different.
  • I know all about pros and cons, but everybody around drives 29ers. faster and lighter than mine. I feel obsolete. I'm getting old...