Between CAAD12 105 vs Scott Solace 30...

yhchang90
yhchang90 Posts: 3
edited February 2016 in Road buying advice
I now have saved just enough money to buy a decent quality road bike with 105 group set.
I have done weeks of research to see what road bike I should buy.
I even visited LBS to test ride a few bikes. I tested CAAD12 once (very short around-the-shop ride)
I have also tested FELT alu bikes.
Have not, not however, tested Scott Solace 30.

It may sound odd, but I got down to CAAD12 and SOLACE 30.
CAAD12 is on my final list because it seems to be the best Alu bike that can compete with many lower quality carbon bikes.
Solace is on my final list because I found a great deal on ebay (1200 dollars), AND many reviews told me that Solace is a wonderful bike.

My questions is this,
although I am new to road cycling, I do enjoy the unique "racey feel" of road bikes (as in sprinting)
I know that CAAD12 is made to be racey, which I like. (also good for climbing?)
Solace, on the other hand is meant to be an endurance bike with some racey feature.
TO those who have ridden Scott Solace: is it racy enough to use in local races?
How is the rear direct mount brake working for you?

To summarize my question simply:
Should I spend extra 300 or 400 dollars to get the "BEST" Alu bike in the market
OR
Should I save some money and put my feet in the Carbon zone, even though the bike may not be as "Racy"
(Some of you might suggest that getting scott addict would be a logical choice, but my reasoning is that, if I were to spend more than 1500 dollars, I might as well just go with CAAD12 for its value and my taste)

Comments

• No experience of the Cannondale, but I bought a Solace 30 (105) last year from Pauls Cycles. I 'needed' a new bike and always had Bianchis but my back is knackered, and couldn't justify the cost of an Infinito (or rather couldn't hide the cost from the other half).