Bang for the buck. Carbon bike under $4K?

twoniner
twoniner Posts: 19
edited February 2016 in Road buying advice
Avid mountain biker. I bought my first road bike. Emonda ALR4 to see if it's something I would like. And I love it. And I'm already wanting to jump up to a carbon bike. Narrowed it down to the Giant TCR Advanced Pro1 and the Specialized Tarmac Expert. Also looking at the Cannondale SuperSix Evo and the Scott Addict. All in the 3-4K price range , all sport Ultegra but the Giant is the only one with carbon wheels and it is the cheapest (which makes no sense to me) makes me think the giant is sub-par.? Why would you get a better bike for less money? On paper I don't see why anyone would buy anything but the Giant. But I'm still new to the road tech. I would appreciate any advice on this topic.

Thanks!!!

Comments

• dstev55
    dstev55 Posts: 742
    $4k - so that's about £2750.

For that sort of money over here I'd be wanting Dura Ace I think. If you like the Emonda ALR so much, have you not considered the Emonda SL8? I have ridden one and it is a lovely bike although I'd want to upgrade the wheels.
  • izza
    izza Posts: 1,561
    Giant always offer good value for money They are the biggest manufacturer in the world and generally, sure high quality parts over a period of a few years and then come out with their own versions. Not sub par in any way.
  • One of the direct retailers - for 'bang for buck' they are by far superior as you don't have to pay middle-men and their markup.

So Canyon or Rose...
    VO2 Max - 79 ml/kg/min
    W/kg - 4.9
  • dstev55
    Dodger747 wrote:
    One of the direct retailers - for 'bang for buck' they are by far superior as you don't have to pay middle-men and their markup.

So Canyon or Rose...

Assuming he is in the US then that puts Canyon out the picture.
  • My money would go to the TCR Advanced Pro 1. New frame + new carbon wheels + full ultegra for $3200 USD MSRP. How can you go wrong with that.
  • dstev55 wrote: