The woes of a Shimano Owner...

bandyquill
bandyquill Posts: 8
edited February 2016 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi All, first post... probably one of many to come...

A little back story to start with...

So after a few drinks a friend suggested i should go out Cycling with them, i agreed, not owning a bike for over 10 years it was suggested i rent one for the trip out... i didnt like this idea, and after looking at plenty of garbage on ebay and gumtree went to my local bike shop and parted with enough cash to find myself with a new, shiny and red Fuji Nevada 1.5 29er... and very happy about it was too... http://archive.fujibikes.com/archivebikes.php?prodid=3507&prodname=Nevada%2029%201.5

so i went out that weekend and tackled the Sutton Bank red route after 10 years of not cycling, it was tough, but rekindled my love of mountain biking...

a few weeks later we went out again to Dalby Forest, and tackled the Red Route again, brilliant, im an expert, so went to the skills park and as quick as a flash fell off and fractured my collar bone... idiot...

and here we are at today, went out at the weekend to Stainburn to go round a few trails that were much more difficult to what we are used to, not all red routes are created equal... my rear deraileur failed, it stopped keeping chain taught and started trying to push towards the crank... bad idea... back to the car to diagnose as fubard...

new Deore 10speed deraileur ordered, no one thought to mention in the shop the 9 speed has different spacing to the 10 i had bought, so now im looking to upgrade to 10 speed rear crank as its looking a bit rough already, and im looking for some advise on the following parts to see if they will actually work together...

the already fitted derailleur
http://www.evanscycles.com/products/shimano/deore-m615-10-speed-shadow-rear-derailleur-ec057610

Shimano Deore HG54 10 Speed Chain - http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/shimano-deore-hg54-10-speed-chain/rp-prod106557