The Truth About Price

GriffterUK
GriffterUK Posts: 13
edited February 2016 in Road buying advice
Hi All,

I am a complete beginner when it comes to bikes (unless you count the time I cut my head open when I was 14 slamming my drop-handle Raleigh bike into a wall).

Anyway I'm hoping you guys and girls could help me discern the truth about whether a price of a bike justifies it's worth.

You see, I'm really keen on doing some triathlons and having spoken to a few millionaires (presumably) at the local tri club, it would appear that spending anything less than £1000 on a road-bike and I will be laughed at - at the start line. Now OK this is a bit of an exaggeration but there definitely seems to be a price point (of around £500) that both road cyclists and mountain bikers seem to brand about like "if it's any less than £500 then it's gonna fall to pieces and last you about a month".

Now my question is whether there is any truth in this? My local bike shops says that they have some "entry-level" Trek 1.1 bikes for £500, and yet to a biking virgin like me it felt no different in ride (or weight) to a Carrera TDF on sale at Halfords for half the price? When I mention this to a few people, they simply say "Carrera is Halfords own brand and it's rubbish, save a bit more and get the Trek".

It's worth noting, that I don't have hundreds of pounds to "chance it", but I think I'm going to enjoy triathlons, but am tempted to buy cheap and see how it goes.

Any advice and wisdom would be much appreciated.

Thank you.

- Griffter

Comments

• Does price matter is a big topic. Certainly if you're talking about do you need a £5,000 bike compared to a £2,000 bike, then almost certainly no. But you're talking about price points where quality changes rapidly.

Is a £500 going to be better than a Halfords special? Yes! In almost every way you can think of. In general quality and function rises rapidly until you get to about £1,000-£1,500 then tails off as diminishing returns kick in.