turbo or road? which is best?

13»

Comments

• Personally I want to be fit and good at cycling, but my priority for the moment is weight loss. There's no way I'm going to be a decent cyclist weighing 25kg more than I should be. So that has to come first.
  • The Strava calorie figure is a useless fudge number.

My data originates from Tacx, not strava
  • deejaysee wrote:
    The Strava calorie figure is a useless fudge number.

My data originates from Tacx, not strava

The point is that they are all useless fudge numbers. The best you can do is get the data from one source and only compare it to other data from that source.
  • I did my first ride on Zwift last night and that gave me 498 calories in 30 mins so unless Tacx and Zwift are both talking BS then i say 800 in an hour is easily done........and i'm far from a Pro ffs
  • deejaysee wrote:
    I did my first ride on Zwift last night and that gave me 498 calories in 30 mins so unless Tacx and Zwift are both talking BS then i say 800 in an hour is easily done........and i'm far from a Pro ffs

They are both talking BS

Measuring calories is very complicated and involves detecting how much water and CO2 you produce when you breathe, as methabolic products of burning "fuel"... any other way is just an educated guess... I can give you a number which will be just as different yet just as good as the one your thingy gives you
    left the forum March 2023
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    deejaysee wrote:
    I did my first ride on Zwift last night and that gave me 498 calories in 30 mins so unless Tacx and Zwift are both talking BS then i say 800 in an hour is easily done........and i'm far from a Pro ffs