New chain now I can't index gears properly

DasBike
DasBike Posts: 22
edited January 2016 in Workshop
Bought a 2nd hand bike few months ago - cube peloton race with 10 speed shimano 105 gears. Gear changes were working fine but not 100% smooth. I changed the chain after checking the old one with a wear tool.
I started playing around with the rear derailleur barrel adjuster to try get crisp changes and I've totally messed it up and can't seem to get back to even remotely smooth changes. I followed some YouTube videos on indexing gears but when I get the tension right to shift up to larger cog it then won't shift down to smaller cog with 1 click. As a result I've had a few instances where I've gone to push down the pedal hard and the chain has finally slipped down a cog or 2 to the correct gear.
I'm at a bit of a loss where to go next. I think the rear cassette is fine - no visible signs of wear and I can pedal hard when in the right gear. Possibly the cable needs replaced - the bike is a 2013 model so has a couple years of riding in it.
Otherwise I can take it to LBS for a service and hope they can sort.
Any guidance much appreciated!

Comments

• dj58
    dj58 Posts: 2,216
    Most likely the inner cable has started to brake down/fray and is snagging on the outer. Check the loop that leads to the RD and the STI shifter, where the cable enters the unit along the front of the handle bar.
    viewtopic.php?f=40004&t=13039045
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    Two possibilities: as suggested above, a fraying inner cable. With my 105 the most likely spot is inside the shifter; it seems to eat the cable there every 2 or 3 years.

Easy way to check without undoing anything, as long as you have external cable routing:

Shift all the way into your lowest gear (biggest sprocket)