Handlebar question

stir88
stir88 Posts: 124
edited February 2016 in Road beginners
Hi, I am fairly new to road riding and am just getting comfortable to start using the drops but I am having trouble reaching the brake levers in this position. I am looking at changing my handlebars and after doing a bit of searching I am looking at the possibility of either deda elementi rhm02 or 3t ergosum pro alloy bars. Is there anywhere I could find the measurement from the front of the drops to the front of the brake levers so I could get the ones with the smallest gap. Are there any other users of these bars who have small hands who could give some advice..
Thanks in advance for any help.

Comments

• DKay
    DKay Posts: 1,652
    The reach on the Deda's is 75m with a 130mm drop and the reach of the 3T Ergosum's is 89mm with a drop of 128mm. The 3T Ergonova's are 77mm and 123mm. I have small hands and use Deda Zero 100 bars which have the same dimensions of the RHM02's.

Also, you should be able to adjust the reach of the actual brake levers to bring them closer to the bars. How you do this depends on your model of shifters.
  • stir88
    Thanks DKay for replying,
    i have shimano 105 levers and i have already had a spacer put in but i am still having trouble reaching the brake lever effectively.
    Thank you for posting the bar reach and drop but the dimension i am looking for is where you place your thumb in the drops to the front of the lever, meaning the smaller the distance the better my small hands will fit. if you can imagine making a C with your thumb and index finger my distance is about 80mm so ideally i would like a bar and lever dimension smaller than this.
    Cheers
  • DKay
    DKay Posts: 1,652
    edited January 2016