Manipulating handlebar height

dima_motel
dima_motel Posts: 26
edited April 2016 in Workshop
Hello everyone,

​My name is Dima Motel and I'm from Israel.
This is my first time using the Bikeradar forums, but I'm an avid reader of the site's articles, so it's not my first time here :)

My question is a bit complex.
I ride a second hand De Rosa King xs (carbon frame, 2015).
I'm 5'3 (1.62 cm) and quite flexible.
The guy I bought it from had cut down the steerer to a minimum so he could be in a more racy position.

Say I want to position my self in a less racy position and more touring /comfortable position.
So far I flipped my 100mm stem to a (+6 (84deg)) angle, but it still feels too low.

My question is - Is there another way I could heighten my handlebars?
Someone suggested me to shorten my stem to 80mm and changing to a +8 stem (82deg)).

Thanks a lot for all of your help.
Best regards,
Dima Motel.

Comments

• sungod
    sungod Posts: 16,554
    yes, you can fit a stem with steeper angle

unless you are reaching forward too far, i would not use a shorter stem as you would already be losing effective length with the increased angle
    my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny
  • rrsodl
    rrsodl Posts: 486
    By shortening the stem you will end up with a slightly more upright position, but if the bike is the right size for you then you might not want to do that. There are 17 degrees and even 35 degree stems available, I think that is a better route to try as you do both, you go up and also shorter distance to the bars.

Check a stem length calculator
    http://www.slowtwitch.com/Fit_Calculator/stem_calc.php
  • RRSODL wrote:
    By shortening the stem you will end up with a slightly more upright position, but if the bike is the right size for you then you might not want to do that. There are 17 degrees and even 35 degree stems available, I think that is a better route to try as you do both, you go up and also shorter distance to the bars.