Air fork setup help

rosscomac7
rosscomac7 Posts: 15
edited January 2016 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi guys and gals,

I just received my Scott Scale 960 today with Rock Shox 30 Silver TK Solo Air forks and I'm having issues getting them set up to my weight. I'm new to this so I have no idea if I'm missing something obvious...

I bought a Rock Shox pump and screw it on. The dial reads 0psi so I pump it up to 90psi according the weight chart on the fork. When I remove the pump I hear a hiss of air. When I put the pump back on, again it reads 0psi. I can't get it to not reduce to 0psi when removing the pump.

Am I missing something? It takes only 3 pumps to get it to 90psi, I thought it would take more than that so I'm just really confused overall now! :lol:

Cheers

Comments

• Are you sure the valve is engaging? My forks came factory pressurised, would be unusual for them to be sent out empty I think.

Three pumps to 90psi on a suspension pump is not likely... I get like 2psi a pump on my rocks box pump so would suggest maybe you're just pressurising the gap between valve and pump.. Also explaining why you get the hissing noise as you unscrew.

I lose a few psi taking the pump off and putting it back on (testing the loss on removal) but nothing more than that.
  • Thanks for the information, definitely sounds like something isn't right then. I will try again tomorrow and see what's going on. I feel like I'm screwing the pump right on as well to ensure its definitely engaged so it's possibly just faulty if it's behaving the way it is.
  • kickaxe
    kickaxe Posts: 446
    If you have a friend with a shock pump, try his/hers and see if it works (Bike shop works too). If it does, it's definitely your pump and not the fork.
    -Cube Acid 29" 2013
    -A new Giant Trance 3 2015!
  • Sounds like the valve has stuck, just press the centre pin to release it then try pumping back up. It happens on innertubes as well.