Will it do more harm than good.

westonpark
westonpark Posts: 57
edited January 2016 in Road beginners
Morning all, Newbie here.

I'm thinking of taking up Road biking, however I suffer from psoriatic arthritis, which in turn caused a herniated disc a few years ago, all symptoms, pains etc are being managed.

My question is, will Road biking (either on a road bike or hybrid etc) do me more harm than good?

Any and all advice would be gratefully appreciated.

Regards

Mike

Comments

• t4tomo
    t4tomo Posts: 2,643
    The advice of your doctor / consultant will be the advice you should follow.
    Bianchi Infinito CV
    Bianchi Via Nirone 7 Ultegra
    Brompton S Type
    Carrera Vengeance Ultimate Ltd
    Gary Fisher Aquila '98
    Front half of a Viking Saratoga Tandem
  • kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    The advice of your doctor / consultant will be the advice you should follow.

This is important advice, you could seriously damage yourself.
  • I got back into cycling 4yrs ago aged 51 in 2010 I had a bulging disk replaced in my neck and later in the year had two bulging disks replaced in my lower back with advice from docs I slowly started a fitness program . I now ride my bike when ever I can 20 plus miles longest ride 40 miles I lost a lot of weight and feel better for it yes I still have aches and pains in my neck and back but at 55yrs old I do feel a lot better for cycling :D
  • grenw
    grenw Posts: 803
    Cycling has helped my back - started on the mtb and now ride both. I took up cycling after slipping a disc and not being able to run.

Personally I think mtb'ing was the best option. More movement and it definitely helped with my core strength.

Mine was though a mild case, if there is such a thing. Never needed surgery or anything other than painkillers. Do see your doctor
  • Not only do you need to see a doctor, if you decide to take up road biking you need to see a bike fitter with a medical background too.