Sram S700 Any Good?

alesupper
alesupper Posts: 286
edited January 2016 in Road buying advice
Has anyone got the sram s700 10 speed hydraulic disc set? There are hardly any reviews on the Web so thought I would ask here?

Cheers.

Comments

• alesupper
    Thought I would answer my own post. Despite not getting any feedback or reviews on these I went ahead and bought them anyway. Mainly because Ribble were doing them at £140 each which is very cheap compared to other suppliers. The downside being that they came with European cabling i.e. Right/Rear - Left/Front.

I normally do all my own bike work but I have no experience with hydraulics so I took this to a LBS (DC Cycles - Ulverston). Dave there came highly recommended to me by a couple of mates of mine so I asked him to swap the cables over to English (Right/Front - Left/Rear) and to fit the shifters and brake calipers. I'm pleased to say that he did a great job and I am very happy with the S700's. The braking power is much better than my cable actuated disc brakes and the shifting is very good, although quite heavy, but so were their predecessors (Sram Apex).

So, if you already have a 10 speed Sram groupset and you fancy going to hydraulic disk brakes and don't want to up grade your complete groupset to 11 speed then I would recommend the Sram S700's. But only if you can get them for a similar price to me. The RRP is over £300 each which is ridiculous and you would be better off changing your whole groupset!
  • MikeBrew
    MikeBrew Posts: 814
    There was an earlier safety recall on these and their SRAM Red counter part. Might be worth checking that yours are the updated MY15 version, though I very much doubt that Ribble would have sold you a recalled item.
    http://sramroadhydraulicbrakerecall.com ... y/updates/
  • alesupper
    Thanks for that. I have emailed Ribble to get them to confirm which model they are. In the mean time if there some way that I can check myself? i.e. model/serial number perhaps?