Aero//lightweight for big guy

smythy82
smythy82 Posts: 4
edited December 2015 in Road buying advice
Hi all,

I have been riding a Specialized Allez sport for the last 2 years and am to buy a higher tier bike. The Allez was a good bike but I need more! Traditionally all I have heard was light, light, light in regards to bike choice. About 3 months ago, I was taking to a well respected ex-pro, who`s opinion I highly respect, who very bluntly that I stupid for chasing a light weight machine and to go with the latest trend and get myself a road aero bike. He then proceeded to tell me that if I am 100kg and 6ft 3in, with not a stick of fat a light weight bike was pointless.

I can see the sense in his thinking? My latest bike visits have me looking at the Argon 18 Nitrogen.

Any comments please...particularly interested in aero road bike owners and big lads! :D

Comments

• sirmol
    sirmol Posts: 287
    What do you want from a new bike? Easier to climb? Speed? Or is it just a nice new shiny :)
  • ayjaycee
    ayjaycee Posts: 1,277
    What Sirmol said. But, in addition, I would suggest that no bike would be very 'aero' with a 6'3" 100kg human being on board - at least not enough to make any difference in the real world. IMHO your ex pro was talking ballocks (or had a new range of 'aero bikes' to sell). Sorry for the negative response.
    Cannondale Synapse Carbon Ultegra
    Kinesis Racelight 4S
    Specialized Allez Elite (Frame/Forks for sale)
    Specialized Crosstrail Comp Disk (For sale)
  • napoleond
    napoleond Posts: 5,992
    Have to agree here, a light weight/aero road bike is like pi55ing in the Atlantic for us bigger guys. Get as aero position as you can on the bike you have, that will make a difference.
    Insta: ATEnduranceCoaching
    ABCC Cycling Coach