Why don't people use single chainrings?

Split Cylcing
Split Cylcing Posts: 20
edited December 2015 in Road general
Hi,
I'm an engineer and a cyclist, I've noticed that single chainrings aren't quite hitting the market as well as they should?

In theory a in-between gear will provide a suitable range of rotations at the cassette to provide a perfect gear.

I'm considering manufacturing and testing gears of different cam's to find out which is the best.

I wan't to know why it hasn't caught on yet?

Comments

• Matthewfalle
    Matthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    Front single chain rings have been mainstream in the MTB world for years, SRAM have just released them for and they seem to have been to have been available for roadies for a good while.
    Postby team47b » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:53 am

De Sisti wrote:
    This is one of the silliest threads I've come across. :lol:

Recognition at last Matthew, well done!, a justified honour :D
    smithy21 wrote:

He's right you know.
  • Thanks for your response,

I really don't see why it hasn't took off yet. I believe that it will become mainstream in the future, thats why Im considering manufacturing a conversion kit.
  • Hi,
    I'm an engineer and a cyclist, I've noticed that single chainrings aren't quite hitting the market as well as they should?

In theory a in-between gear will provide a suitable range of rotations at the cassette to provide a perfect gear.

I'm considering manufacturing and testing gears of different cam's to find out which is the best.

I wan't to know why it hasn't caught on yet?

It hasnt caught on because people want the greater range of ratios provided by multiple chainrings. I prefer triples myself. A single front ring wouldn't provide a great enough range of gears for me especially as I cycle a lot of hills.
  • ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    Because you wouldn't have a low enough gear for the hills, nor likely to have a big enough gear to stop spinning out on descents.
  • Grill