Giant Yukon or Land Rover Zamora?

Caty
Caty Posts: 4
edited December 2015 in MTB beginners
Hi all.

I'm a newbie and looking to buy a second hand bike for my other half. He's a big bloke, 6ft 2 and about 18 stone. He needs something strong and comfortable as he hasn't ridden for a long time. I have seen an old Giant Yukon for sale and also a Land Rover Discovery Zamora. Unfortunately I don't know the year.

Any thoughts as to which might be the best bike in terms of build quality etc? I'm veering towards the giant but he is a Land Rover fan...

Thanks

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Land Rover bikes are generally total rubbish with a Land Rover sticker on them. They have nothing to do with the car, just a marketing ploy.
    So the Giant is probably the better bike, but without knowing the model, condition, what might have been changed etc it's impossible to say.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • brianbee
    brianbee Posts: 330
    Hi all.

I'm a newbie and looking to buy a second hand bike for my other half. He's a big bloke, 6ft 2 and about 18 stone. He needs something strong and comfortable as he hasn't ridden for a long time. I have seen an old Giant Yukon for sale and also a Land Rover Discovery Zamora. Unfortunately I don't know the year.

Any thoughts as to which might be the best bike in terms of build quality etc? I'm veering towards the giant but he is a Land Rover fan...

Thanks
    How much are you thinking a spending ?, Ive seen second hand bikes for sale at more than the new price and many old Knockers at not much less
    Give your budget and Il give you a guess what what you could expect for that money
  • Caty
    Thanks guys.

I'm not looking to spend much, between £50 and £100. We just need a study and comfortable ride for him to get back into cycling and then if he likes it i'm sure he can get something better in time.