300km, 16 y/o, 6 months training plan?

300kover3days
300kover3days Posts: 5
edited December 2015 in Health, fitness & training
Hi,
I'm a 16 y/o who signed up to do a 300km cycling event next June. It's going to be around 100km a day (for three days), at a speed of about 25-30km/h. It's going to be rather fun! But here's the problem: I have no experience cycling for long periods of time. :shock: I've never done an athletic event...

I've only ever biked during the summer. Currently, I go to the gym sometimes. I practice martial arts twice a week for an hour and a half, and I do cross-country ski for a couple hours once a week.

The gym has weights, treadmills, stationary bikes and such. I need to start training and my goal is to build muscle and endurance so that I won't die :!: during the event. There's already a foot of snow on the ground. I was thinking of going to the gym 3-4 times a week, lifting weights for about an hour and then doing some spinning for a half-hour or so. However, I don't want to ruin my knees by going on the bike at the gym too much and I have no idea how to keep track of my progress, how to properly raise the amount of resistance every once in a while, etc. Also, there's a walking path near me that I could probably bike on with my mountain bike.

Please help, I don't know what I'm doing!

Comments

• Firstly for endurance cycling, which 100k/day for 3 days is. Spin isn't really your friend. You need to be teaching your body to maintain a reasonable pace for long periods of time, rather than high tempo bursts.

If you do martial arts and cross country skiing regularly you're probably not in any need of building muscle either.. Just train it to the job at hand. Endurance is about fitness/body conditioning not mega muscles, just look at marathon runners.