Shorts/Trousers/Helmet/Gloves advice

dong888
dong888 Posts: 11
edited December 2015 in MTB buying advice
Hi,

I'm completely new to mountain biking so I'm getting kitted out. Grateful for any advice.

Here's what I've narrowed my choices down to:

Shorts: Endura MTR Baggy or Singletrack II
Trousers: Endura Singletrack II
Helmet: Bell Super 2
Gloves: Endura Full Monty/Troy Lee Air/Endura fs260 ???? too much choice...

Would you recommend both trousers and shorts, and do they usually come with padding?

Thanks

Comments

• mattyfez
    mattyfez Posts: 638
    Some do, some don't - endura humvee shorts come with inners

I'd reccomend trying them on for fit as teh size guides often don't seem accurate. If theres an evans near you they usualy have a decent selection of Endura pants and gloves.

Again gloves, deffinatly try on.
  • JGTR
    JGTR Posts: 1,404
    edited December 2015
    I use Lycra under shorts (reduces chaffing) or leggings with padding in them then decent unpadded MTB shorts over the top. Have summer and winter leggings, summer only really to stop scratches/stings. Decathlon water proof jacket (£12) for emergencies (stays in bag most of time) seal skin socks for wet weather, Decathlon under layers, various T shirts and a decent wind jacket/light shower resistant with detachable arms. £3 buff from Decathlon to keep neck warm and Decathlon skull cap for under helmet if it's really cold.
  • brianbee
    brianbee Posts: 330
    I use Lycra shorts (reduces chaffing) or legging with padding in them then padded MTB shorts over the top. Have summer and winter leggings, summer only really to stop scratches/stings. Decathlon water proof jacket (£12) for emergencies (stays in bag most of time) seal skin socks for wet weather, Decathlon under layers, various T shirts and a decent wind jacket/light shower resistant with detachable arms. £3 buff from Decathlon to keep neck warm and Decathlon skull cap for under helmet if it's really cold.