newbie question - Hope hub types

Rider j
Rider j Posts: 3
edited December 2015 in MTB workshop & tech
hi all yet newbie here, :lol:
Im after a stronger rear hub for my general trails bike and am looking at a few different hope pro II's on fleabay, im abit confussed though as one is branded hope hoops pro II and the other is branded hope pro II evo? is one a road model or just and older spec? oh and what are these things like on the noise front when freewheeling?

Cheers all

Comments

• Pro 2 doesn't have the option to replace end caps to accommodate different axle sizes.

Pro 2 Evo does have the option to replace end caps to accommodate different axle sizes.

Loud with a capital F!
    Trail fun - Transition Bandit
    Road - Wilier Izoard Centaur/Cube Agree C62 Disc
    Allround - Cotic Solaris
  • mattyfez
    mattyfez Posts: 638
    There is also a newer ish version of the pro 2 evo (40t) which has 40 points of engagement as opposed to 20 something on the older one.. Supposed to be quieter than the older one but it still sounds like a shark on the and of a deep sea fishing reel when free wheeling.
  • sweet cheers guys
    john
  • RevellRider
    RevellRider Posts: 1,794
    Pro 2 doesn't have the option to replace end caps to accommodate different axle sizes.

Pro 2 Evo does have the option to replace end caps to accommodate different axle sizes.

Loud with a capital F!

Not actually true. The ProII was convertable (and still is) to different axle standards. It did come with a QR axle as standard, so to convert to say 142x12 you need a new axle and end caps, where as the Pro II Evo runs a 12mm axle as standard and only requires the end caps changing. There were a few other small internal changes with the Evo version, mainly bearing layout and a revised outer diameter on the centre of the axle so to better support Maxle Lite.