MTB noob. £400 budget. 3 models.

DoverH
DoverH Posts: 3
edited November 2015 in MTB buying advice
Hi

I am a complete beginner to mountain biking. After reading on these forums, I came to the decision to buy Decathlon's RockRider 560 (which was listed at £339).

Unfortunately, I later got an email saying they were out of stock.

I have just moved next to a forest, and for transportation purposes, the sooner I get a bike, the better. Unforunately this means I can't wait for xmas deals.

My budget is £400. I thought of going with the RockRider 540 (at £300)

https://www.decathlon.co.uk/rockrider-540-mountain-bike-id_8293149.html

OR

Calibre Two.Two (£379)

http://www.gooutdoors.co.uk/calibre-two-two-alloy-hardtail-mountain-bike-p275612

OR

Mondraker (£399)

http://www.gooutdoors.co.uk/mondraker-phase-29er-mountain-bike-p343087

As I said, I am a complete beginner. Any advice you could give me would be much appreciated. If you think there is another model I should go for within the £400 budget, I would be happy to do that as well.

Thank you very much!

Dover

Comments

• brianbee
    brianbee Posts: 330
    Well not the mondraker that's for sure

Its hard to split the other two, and not sure which sun-tours shock the RR has on it has on ?

The 2/2 looks the best spec the RR the best value if the shock isn't complete rubbish and , if it is ,the 80 quid saving would go along way towards buying a really decent shock for it ?????
  • Thank you very much for the responses.

bold seagull I did look at that bike you mentioned. In fact, had it been available, I would have bought it immediately. Unforunately, there are none for delivery and only 1 left to pickup (which is in London). The cost to go to London to pick up the bike adds an extra £60.