If you could have only one clincher tyre.......

skyblueamateur
skyblueamateur Posts: 1,498
edited November 2015 in Cyclocross
Following on from the other thread, I'm a newbie to 'cross so any recommendations for a general all purpose tyre and recommended pressure levels for dry or muddy conditions would be much appreciated!

Comments

• Chris James
    Chris James Posts: 1,040
    Challenge grifo is a popular choice for an all rounder although it struggles a bit in muddier conditions.

I like Michelin mud2 as they are cheap (approx. £25 a pop), decent in light mud whilst still being reasonably quick, and can be run at fairly low pressures. I weigh about 11.5 stone and use fat butyl inner tubes as I am a skinflint but I have still run mud2s at under 30 psi on muddy courses and about 35 psi for rooty courses. I've never pinch flatted in a race so could probably go to even lower pressures.
  • trek_dan
    trek_dan Posts: 1,366
    Used Griffos all last season before I got tubs. Just went for the cheap wire beads models as they don't disintegrate using them on tarmac.
  • napoleond
    napoleond Posts: 5,992
    If I could have only one clincher tyre surely I'd need a unicycle?
    Insta: ATEnduranceCoaching
    ABCC Cycling Coach
  • VamP
    VamP Posts: 674
    I have never really got on with the Griffo tread pattern. We just recently had this debate on our club forum (we do have rather a lot of cx racers ;)) and the toss up for the best mud clinchers was between Limus and Clement PDX. The majority was leaning towards the Clement...