Buying first bike and recomended different sizes

FSITR
FSITR Posts: 18
edited October 2015 in Road buying advice
Hello, I'm buying my first road bike which is for a long cycle next year (~900 mile over 9 days), as I'm a student my budget is fairly tight and i have narrowed it down to either:

Giant Defy 5: Recommended size M/L

Cannondale Synpapse Sora: recommended 58" at one store and 56" at another

I don't know my exact measurements as in inside leg etc. I just went along to the shop and tried them out and took their advice. As I'm new to all of this it's very difficult to know which feels better, especially between the 56" and 58", even when jumping between the two.

Can anyone tell me if it is better to have a bike that is slightly larger or slighter smaller than it should be?
Or am I best getting my exact measurement and looking at it from that perspective?

Any help is much appreciated. Thanks

Comments

• arlowood
    arlowood Posts: 2,561
    Hello, I'm buying my first road bike which is for a long cycle next year (~900 mile over 9 days), as I'm a student my budget is fairly tight and i have narrowed it down to either:

Giant Defy 5: Recommended size M/L

Cannondale Synpapse Sora: recommended 58" at one store and 56" at another

I don't know my exact measurements as in inside leg etc. I just went along to the shop and tried them out and took their advice. As I'm new to all of this it's very difficult to know which feels better, especially between the 56" and 58", even when jumping between the two.

Can anyone tell me if it is better to have a bike that is slightly larger or slighter smaller than it should be?
    Or am I best getting my exact measurement and looking at it from that perspective?

Any help is much appreciated. Thanks

First a couple of questions that might help others advise you with a little more confidence.

How tall are you in ft and inches (or metres if imperial measures are a step too far)