Planet X XLS & Mudguards

deffler
deffler Posts: 829
edited October 2015 in Commuting chat
Bought a XLS back in May, as a complete novice when going through checkout I added the optional mudguards which were these

http://www.planetx.co.uk/i/q/FSGBSLFS/gilles-berthoud-stainless-fender-set

Took them to my LBS yesterday as the winter preparations begin to be told the rear will not fit without a lot of bodging as there's nowhere to attach.

spoke to Planet-X who basically say yes a lot of bodging is required - bending & cable ties etc.

I'm pretty annoyed as the guards were sold as an optional extra with no mention of bodging required, I'm awaiting Planet X coming back to me as my reply was "I'm not happy to accept a bodge".

I'm wondering if anyone has had the same problem and have you managed to successfully fit these guards? OR what guards are people successfully using on the XLS?
Boardman Hybrid Pro

Planet X XLS

Comments

• On_What
    On_What Posts: 516
    bin the mudguards, they look daft anyway
  • deffler
    bin the mudguards, they look daft anyway

true, however in the depths of a northeast winter i'm not really bothered what they look like
    Boardman Hybrid Pro

Planet X XLS
  • deffler
    update

Planet X have confirmed "the bodge" is an "industry standard" when attaching mudguards to a CX bike :roll:
    Boardman Hybrid Pro

Planet X XLS
  • dhope
    dhope Posts: 6,699
    update

Planet X have confirmed "the bodge" is an "industry standard" when attaching mudguards to a CX bike :roll:
    I think the response is a Planet X standard.
    In my limited and entirely anecdotal experience they make good bikes at good prices. And if anything goes wrong or you're not entirely satisfied then they're a bunch of arses to deal with.
    Rose Xeon CW Disc
    CAAD12 Disc
    Condor Tempo
  • ddraver
    ddraver Posts: 26,391