Advice - Pro-lite Revo A21 disc wheelset

chris217
chris217 Posts: 218
edited June 2016 in Road buying advice
Any views or ride experiences for the above wheels ?

Actually need some general recommendations for road / gravel suitable disc wheels

Cheers

Comments

• 964cup
    964cup Posts: 1,362
    I have no knowledge of those Pro-Lite wheels, but for that kind of money the Kinesis Crosslight Disc V3 is a good wheelset. You can run them tubeless (I have) and they are fashionably wide. The V3 (with eyeletted rims) is significantly better than the previous model, as well as a bit lighter. Hubs are generic Taiwanese Novatec-a-likes, and seem to hold up well.
  • chris217
    Thanks I have heard good reviews for the cross lights however also mixed comments about running high pressure for road and durability
  • I started a thread about these a few weeks ago.
    http://www.bikeradar.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=40042&t=13036480

As you can see, I went for the Crosslights at £225. Haven't fitted yet as they are going to be a christmas present from my wife.
  • 964cup
    Thanks I have heard good reviews for the cross lights however also mixed comments about running high pressure for road and durability
    I ran a V2 set for about 2000km on Open Paves at 100-110psi. I now have a V3 set which I run either with Hutchinson Intensive 25c tubeless at 100psi or Schwalbe Ultremo Acqua 23c at 110-120psi. So I'd be relaxed about high pressures and road tyres.
  • I just bought some - they haven't arrived yet but I'll let you know what I think once I get the chance!
    2014 Giant Anthem 27.5 1
    2014 Specialized Roubaix SL4 Disc
  • Well - first impressions out of the box are good.

I've read that people have trouble getting tyres on - I have to agree. Some Gatorskins went on but didn't pop into the bead hook properly leaving a bit of a wobbly fit that I just couldn't fix. Some Specialized tyres banged on as expected though. So - some combos might be a bit of a hassle...