Roller advice?

Bepster
Bepster Posts: 20
edited September 2015 in Road buying advice
Hi guys,

With winter coming, I am looking for alternatives to keep peddling even when it gets nasty and dark outside.

I'd be grateful for any advice, experiences and product suggestions regarding rollers as I am completely new to the concept.

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    My advice would be to not ask for advice on here.

They are all pretty similar and not that expensive. Buy some and try them for yourself.
    If you don't like them, sell them and move on.
    If you buy second hand then you may not even lose money.

Maybe try parabolic ones first off, as they self centre a bit.
    Dont compare with turbo trainers, or listen to anyone who tells you to get one of those instead. They are different things and I am sure lots of people have/use both.
  • fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    Buy a turbo and look at trainerroad or sufferfest.

Rollers arent suited to most people and you surely don't want to recreate an outside cycle ride - you want a quality session - so turbo with interval sessions.
  • Going to disagree with Carbonator and say get a turbo first as most people find they get more use out of that than rollers. If you do get rollers buy any cheap set second hand - I don't find Tacx parabolic any advantage over non parabolic but I haven't used the non tacx type with a sharper lip - then if you find you usethem a lot something like Kreitler are much nicer.
    [Castle Donington Ladies FC - going up in '22]
  • JesseD
    JesseD Posts: 1,961
    Buy a turbo if you want variable resistance as some come with bar mounted levers to change the resistance applied to the back wheel. Turbos are good for specific power session but IMO are really boring to ride plus can play havoc with your pedal stroke and make it choppy.