Head v Heart?

dstev55
dstev55 Posts: 742
edited September 2015 in Road buying advice
Hi all,

I'm going to be buying a new road bike soon and I've got it down to a choice of 3. The 3 I am looking at are:

Canyon Endurace CF 9.0 SL
Rose Xeon CGF-4000
Focus Cayo Ultegra 2016

I've been riding for only 9 months (I currently have a Btwin Alur 700) however the progress I have made is incredible and I feel although I can still get much fitter I would love a lighter bike. My bike weighs 9.4kg with pedals and bottle cages so as you can imagine it does hold me back a little. I have struggled with the low riding position of road bikes and I am currently riding my bike with stem upside down to help bring the position a little more upright.

So down to my choices. The main two are the Canyon and Rose. They have similar specs, similar weight and are similar prices. Both are endurance bikes but both still marketed as race oriented. The Focus is the outsider - although it's a little cheaper, the spec is poorer and it's a little weightier, I think the only reason I am keeping this in is because Focus are stocked at a local shop and I can try it unlike the other two. I am planning on getting a professional bike fit in the next month or so which may help me decide.

My heart says the Canyon (brand pedigree I think), my head says the Rose as I think it's a better bike and will suit me more. Plus it's easier to change the spec of the Rose (would probably go for a 52/36 chainring and Dt Swiss R20 Dicut wheels). Putting a proper sensible head on I would go forth Focus for the reasons above.

So does anyone have any advice? Has anyone got or ridden the bikes I am looking at? Anyone ever bought a direct to consumer bike before and regretted it?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• napoleond
    napoleond Posts: 5,992
    The weight of your bike is not holding you back. At all.

If you want a new bike, get the one that fits best and you like the look of most.
    Insta: ATEnduranceCoaching