Building leg muscle?

james22b2
james22b2 Posts: 132
Hi
After 20 years of very limited exercise I started riding MTB again. After about 5 months I seem to have lost about 7kg (depends on the time of day..). That is almost 10% of my body weight - I just weighed myself after a ride and I weigh just under 67kg and I am 178cm. I have also subconsciously improved my diet with less fatty food, wine and beer etc.
I currently cycle about 100-150km per week on a mixture of hilly road and single track, dirt, sand and gravel surfaces.
My legs are now pretty lean but this was never really my goal - how can I make sure I build muscle (for propelling myself) instead of just burning off the excess fat (or worse, muscle)?
I´d much rather go faster than get thinner.
Thanks in advance.

Comments

• kinioo
    kinioo Posts: 776
    What you mean 'build muscle' ??

A) Are you aiming for big legs like a bodybuilder --> Mass + definition but not much strength & stamina?
    B) Are you aiming for strength but not as much stamina/endurance --> i.e. short distance sprinter?
    C) Are you aiming for stamina plus a bit of strength but very little mass --> i.e. long distance runner ?

Training routine/program & diet for each of the above is different.

I think something between B & C would work for you ?!

In this case I would suggest a gym and some weight training probably 3 x a week plus stick to your bike routine as this is excellent cardio training.

You will not gain any mass doing cardio or core exercises (however I do recommend core exercises as excellent overall training to get in shape) - you need gradually add some weight (lifting more and more kilograms) to give your muscles a kick; also at the same time you need to give them 'a material' to grow up, which is proper food/proteins .

Doing weight training for mass/strength you need a lot of fuel --> proteins - correct meals before and after your workout (very often pre-workout meal is different to the post-workout meal).