Specialized FSR XC Comp Advice Please

WalterWhite
WalterWhite Posts: 32
edited September 2015 in MTB buying advice
Hi guys,

When I started riding again earlier this year I was using my dad's stock 2007 Hardrock.

Over time I replaced the wheels, brakes, fork, pedals, gears and a few other bits. Not much remains of the original bike other than the frame, seat/seatpost, handlebars, stem etc.

I'm mainly doing some light ~10 mile pretty flat-ish trails around my local area, as well as some more challenging trails (for a beginner at least) such as Cannock Chase Monkey Trail which have some small jumps, rocky sections, steps, ski jumps etc, nothing too crazy, but fun nonetheless.

I noticed that most of the other guys doing these trails are on full suspension bikes, and it looks like fun. I'm thinking of upgrading my frame to a cheap-ish (used) full suspension frame. I'm never going to be doing any extreme downhill stuff or jumping 10ft in the air or anything like that, just your average trails with light jumps and fun stuff.

I've been offered a 2010 FSR XC Comp frame for £200ish. It comes with an X-Fusion rear shock and looks pretty tidy.

I'm probably going to buy it, but I'm wondering what the difference is between the 'XC Comp' and a Stumpjumper. They look pretty similar to my untrained eye, and seem a similar price, but everyone raves about the Stumpjumper online, and I see loads of these at Cannock when I do the trails there, but I never hear anyone talk about an XC Comp... So is the XC Comp an entry level version of the Stumpjumper? or What's the difference?

Here is an identical frame to the one I've been offered, but I will be buying the frame only, so ignore all other bits! :)

p4pb6468180.jpg

Any help would be great :)

Comments

• I think SJ frames were lighter (M5 v M4 tubing), longer travel forks (130mm v 120mm) and typically higher spec components (not relevant if you are building from frame)