Fatbike Novice

bikenovice2102
bikenovice2102 Posts: 2
edited September 2015 in MTB beginners
Hey I have recently started dabbling in fatbikes and I came across this video of the Xterrain on Youtube: youtube.com/watch?v=DoAtBkPoDKY

The performance of the bike looks good to me but I am new to this so I just wanna find out what are your thoughts on the design?

Comments

• The performance of the bike looks good to me but I am new to this so I just wanna find out what are your thoughts on the design?

It looks like a tin of Spam!
  • I wouldn't touch that with a sh1tty stick.
    That square profile front tyre is going to be awful on anything but sand plus it's not a normal fat bike size so you won't be able to change it for something better. Them forks are non standard so you are unlikely to be able to service them when the manufacturer inevitably goes bust.
    But mainly, E-bikes are for lazy fatty virgins with no friends.
  • Wot he said!

Why?
    Trail fun - Transition Bandit
    Road - Wilier Izoard Centaur/Cube Agree C62 Disc
    Allround - Cotic Solaris
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    Have you actually ridden a fatbike? If you had, you'd probably find that front tyre would be unrideable on a lot of singletrack simply due to it's width - might be fine for beach riding but nowt else. Likewise, when it gets wet and gloopy the tyre would simply get bogged-down. Electric bikes are OK as mobility aids, but that's a different debate.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    I'm not sure MD has ever ridden a fatbike, I've borrowed one and ridden with people on them, they cope with UK singletrack just fine and in muddy conditions they are great as they float over it just like they do on sand and snow (funny that really.....), much less bogging down than on a conventional bike.