Fork help.

Razor32
Razor32 Posts: 24
edited September 2015 in MTB beginners
Hi Guys.
I recently made a topic here about getting a new chainring, now that is done and i am up to do the last few upgrades on my Specialazied rockhopper 2015 model. I will make an quick ontroduction, i am pretty new in the MTB sport, and loving it. I ride pretty hard considering i am new and have therefor already changes alot of stuff on my bike. I am trying to make my bike feel more laidback and flowy. I know I should of bought a fully, or at least a AM HT. Some say the rockhopper is a XC bike, specialized themselves say it is an entry trail bike.

Anyway the bike came stock with a Suntour XCR 100mm i find myself maxing it out often, and it has startede to feel very tight so to say, even though i have adjusted it to bounce back to its original postion fast. I was thinking about putting a reba on for a new fork. This line of fork will also be the maximum price tag 400 quid as i am saving up for a fully on the side. I will ride this bike for most likely 1-2 years and learn the basics. I wanted to know if i can put a 120 mm on the bike and will it benefit me going down? I know going uphill will be a little disadvantage, but i have no problem going up hill, so that is fine. I have not been able to find out if it stresses the frame more than allowed with a 120 mm fork. Any experience og suggestions is great!
sorry for long post

Comments

• Should be fine at 120mm but may invalidate your warranty. I would go for a Rockshox Reba.
  • If i choose to stay at 100mm like the frame is designed for. Will i be able to tell the diffrence between the suntour xcr and a reba?
  • John Wh
    John Wh Posts: 239
    I reckon it will be night and day. Missus used to have an XCR on her old bike, now she's got a Revelation and she couldn't believe the difference, and she's still a total beginner like me.

I'd go with Rockmonkey's suggestion and go for a Reba.