New Brakes for my FeltF95

Apeman14
Apeman14 Posts: 30
edited September 2015 in Road buying advice
Hi guys/gals,
I've been riding my Felt F95 for about 8 months now after getting bitten by the bike bug. I started off with the Felt as a first/beginners bike and have not been disappointed bearing in mind the price I paid. After riding for a while I've made a few changes - new saddle and a new set of wheels (the originals weren't the best apparently). I want to upgrade to a full carbon bike in due course (sooner rather than later) but am not in position financially (yet) to get a new ride. I do a fair bit of hill climbing due to the area I live in and would like better brakes to improve my ride.
I'm mindful of the balance of upgrading the current bike and saving to put towards a new one, but do feel that new brakes would make a real difference - it is sometimes squeaky bum time on the fast descents!
The thing is - I have no idea what would be good/compatible for the bike, noticeably improve the braking and be of (relative good value).
Or should I just forget it and keep saving?
Your advice and thoughts would be much appreciated.

Comments

• What brakes do you have now?

You might be able to just replace the pads to markedly improve performance.
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 17,148
    ^^^this

swissstop pads can be a lot better than the generic ones supplied

another thing is to check adjustment, pads should be a couple of mm away from the rim, too close/far and performance may not be as good

on descents it helps to move your weight back when braking hard, you can put more force in without the rear lifting
    my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    I would probably get some 105 5800 (not 5700 as they pivot differently) callipers and Swissstop green pads.

Not that expensive but will be a massive improvement IME.
    Should be fine with whatever levers you have (I had 105 5700 levers when I did the same thing).