Which front fork have i bought?

N3uI09
N3uI09 Posts: 16
edited September 2015 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi, i recently bought this Rockshox Sid front fork, but i need some help pointing out exactly which model it is, because i have a problem with it..

What i do know, is that it is air-driven, and some text says: dual flow rebound..

The lockout ain't working.. i can turn the blue knob, to the locking position, but it aint locking..

How do i fix the lockout? is it just a simple little thing, or does it need replacement?

2j4x75g.jpg

zwr9h.jpg

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Is there an air valve at the bottom of the left leg, riders perspective?
  • cubedean
    cubedean Posts: 670
    The outer cable doesn't look correctly seated into the lockout ring to me.
  • N3uI09
    edited August 2015
    From riders perspective, there is a red valve om the bottom right fork. What is that? And on the left fork is an air valve.

I am new to mtb'ing so i would appreciate some info :)
  • Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    It says Sid on it. Yep, cable not right
  • Chunkers1980
    Unless it was really cheap you may have been better getting a slightly lesser fork and new wheels and tyres in stead
  • N3uI09
    I bought it for 37 dollars. I am only gonna ride my bike om a everyday basis, and in the forest once in a while.
  • Chunkers1980
    How come?
  • N3uI09
    How come, what?
  • Chunkers1980
    25 pounds for a fork costing new over 10 times that and looks new
  • N3uI09
    Well, i suppose the guy who sold it to me, didn't know what it was, and then the lockout is broken.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Probably nothing wrong with the lockout, as the cable isn't set up properly it will be obvious the knob isn't rotating when you use the remote, that big expanse of bare inner cable shouldn't be there between the outer and the stop on the fork crown.