Commuting HELMET lights?

joecamel
joecamel Posts: 81
edited August 2015 in Road buying advice
It's nearly time to light up again for the commute to work.
I've got a Solarstorm X2 on the bars and CandB Seen at the rear, both are superb.
I need a decent helmet/headlight, any suggestions? Something lightweight but effective enough to be seen and aid in seeing on darker parts of the ride. I've been using a Hope 1 for a few years but it looks like I'm mining coal and it's heavy with the battery pack mounted on the helmet too.
CHEAP IS GOOD.
Any suggestions welcome, thanks.

Comments

• timothyw
    timothyw Posts: 2,482
    Lezyne Macro Duo is what I use:
    http://www.wiggle.co.uk/lezyne-macro-drive-duo/

Although I doubt you'll find it as cheap as the £20 with magazine subscription that loads of us signed up for last year.
  • joecamel

Although I doubt you'll find it as cheap as the £20 with magazine subscription that loads of us signed up for last year.

Thanks. What sort of burn times do you get from that? I had a Lezyne Mega previously and it was crap. It ran for about 90 minutes on low. I had three of them before getting my money back.
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    I use the Exposure Joystick as a helmet/backup light. It is not cheap (~£120) but it is very good and relatively light (~100g). It can be charged via a USB adaptor cable and mounted either on the bars or on a helmet. On the medium light setting it helps me read signs at a distance, etc., even when out in the pitch black and will give over 3 hours use. Using a min setting or flash helps me be seen and lasts for hours.

One does need to be careful with ensuring any helmet light hits the road in normal use and try and remember not to lift one's head too much when cars come towards you. The Joystick light beam has no pattern as such, just a round beam so it is easy to glare oncoming drivers.

My main lighting is via a bar mounted Exposure Diablo.
  • fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437