Newbie, first proper mtb advice

Beefybonus
Beefybonus Posts: 6
edited September 2015 in MTB beginners
Hello there.

I'm new to this mtb lark, I'm looking for some advice about my first proper mtb.

I'm looking to ease into some simple trails as well.as use it for my daily commute, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Ideally I've been looking for something around the 500 - 600 quid mark and pretty much straight away liked the look of the voodoo bizango, I also liked the look of the vitus sentier which was a little over my price range but I would have stretched if need be, as it is neither of those are available on the cycle scheme I'm using to buy through so they're out.

My 2 current choices are, btwin rockrider 560 which looks to be pretty good value at 400 quid, for a sub 13kg bike with deore components and rockshox air fork, the only down side I see is the avid disc brakes which don't seem to have great reviews.

Bike 2 is from fuji bikes, I can't find out much about them and there's barely any reviews for the bike, a nevada 1.1 29er 2015 disc, spec not much difference from the btwin, but it does only have a suntour coil fork, and weighs in at 14.3 kgs so about 2 kilos heavier it's discounted from 750 to 565 in Evans cycles too.
http://www.fujibikes.com/bike/details/nevada-29-11

So I'm leaning towards the 29er because bigger is always better right... but am I being daft to overlook the spec of rockrider for that price?

Please help me decide or suggest some other options, the scheme opens on Sept 1st so I've got just under a week to decide.

Many thanks in advance.

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Your link doesn't work, bigger isn't always better, but the RR is. Especially at the price.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Thanks, I thought that too, but really liked look and feel of the fuji when I saw it in store, not seen the RR yet.