Power loss up Cols

ravenvrider
ravenvrider Posts: 198
edited September 2015 in Tour & expedition
I have previously posted about my planned ride up the iconic Alpe'd'Huez to coincide with breaking my back exactly 2 years ago and my hope to do the climb in less than an hour just to make my task ...er interesting oh and being 52 didn't help. I did the climb a week ago so thought I would update here with some interesting info for anyone attempting a similar attempt.

Just to be clear i am a stats and numbers man so like to be able to quantify examine and rationalise my rides. I started training in ernest for my climb 4 months ago, I was in reasonable shape and started my 4 month schedule with a 20 minute wattbike FTP Test to get a baseline, the result was 263 watts, my weight was 146lbs (66.3kg) giving a w/kg 3.96 my coach gave me a training plan based on my daily commute plus 3 weekly wattbike sessions and a 2 hour Sunday ride.

In short over the 4 months my 20 minute wattbike FTP went up to 287 watts my weight went down to 139lbs (63.1kg) giving me w/kg 4.54...now take 5% off to get my hour FTP and you get 272 watts and w/kg of 4.32 now there is a really good and accurate graph http://alex-cycle.blogspot.co.uk/2011/07/lalpe-dhuez-one-for-mortals.html online that gives expected times up the Alpe based on your w/kg, for my 4.3 I was expecting to climb the Alpe in around 54 minutes which I was very happy with.

I rode the Alpe the second day I was there, the weather was good and I felt strong, I got into it immediately and took my hr up to my threshold (176bpm) and held it there for most of the climb going up to 180 ish on a few steeper ramps then sprinting the final straight taking it up to 187, my av hr was 178 for the climb so I was clearly on it all the way up, funny thing though my legs never really felt pushed which was clearly shown by my ability to sprint flat out from a long way out after an hours climb at threshold.