Beginner Upgrades and Helmet?

Gavvo
Gavvo Posts: 16
edited August 2015 in MTB buying advice
After completely ignoring sensible buying advice, I went a bit crazy and bought a 2005 Stumpjumper Expert for a lowly price of £300. The bike is in superb condition and that's without taking its age into consideration and is also completely standard. As a complete novice, is it worth already considering component upgrades? Or is this the norm?

Also, being a motorcyclist I wouldn't feel entirely safe without a full face helmet but I'm worried about looking like a complete knob on my daily commute. Can anyone recommend a decent hat?

Cheers.

Comments

• cubedean
    cubedean Posts: 670
    Wanting to upgrade straight away is part & parcel of being sucked in! But realistically depending on the type of riding that you plan on doing there's probably no need. Forks & wheels would be the best investment I would think.

A full face for the commute is a bit ott in my opinion. I've just purchased an Urge enduromatic lid as I wanted more protection to the lower sections of my head. I ordered both sizes as it is none adjustable & found that the s/m was snug but the l/xl are slightly too big (57cm noggin).

It feels light and appears to offer the coverage that I'm looking for.
  • Briggo
    Briggo Posts: 3,537
    After completely ignoring sensible buying advice, I went a bit crazy and bought a 2005 Stumpjumper Expert for a lowly price of £300. The bike is in superb condition and that's without taking its age into consideration and is also completely standard. As a complete novice, is it worth already considering component upgrades? Or is this the norm?

Also, being a motorcyclist I wouldn't feel entirely safe without a full face helmet but I'm worried about looking like a complete knob on my daily commute. Can anyone recommend a decent hat?

Cheers.