Newbie here, got my bike! And another!

niallmo
niallmo Posts: 103
edited September 2015 in Road beginners
Got a great deal on a Carrera Vanquish. Happy with something I don't really have to worry about if I crash or fall off or it gets stolen. If I take to it I'll get a better spec when I've got some decent mileage.

D2BC34B9-EB45-4F3C-8AD9-337AA307EE2E_zpseph54hth.jpg

It's 54cm, I'm 5' 10" so just about in the right range, I've changed the 130mm stem for a 90mm and that's made it feel really good.

image.jpg1_zpsiy8vqxg3.jpg

Ordered some Lezyne lights, F and R Femto and a Front Microdrive. Got a high viz Boardman Wind jacket, DHB waterproof Fluro, Boardman Gel shorts and an Adidas Climalite Jersey on the way.

Bought a track pump with gauge and have a Co2 valve, couple of canisters and a Lezyne repair kit coming.not going with cleats yet as I'll only be doing less than 20 miles a week to start with. Will buy a couple of inner tubes and start saving for some Gatorskins. I do get a bit obsessed with things (I have 12 guitars) so I've been hanging around here, doing some research and trying to find some deals.

Hoping to get towards 20 miles a day with a 50 at the weekend.

Comments

• sirmol
    sirmol Posts: 287
    Welcome and enjoy :)
  • Philly8mt
    Philly8mt Posts: 552
    Welcome and enjoy :)

Yep, enjoy it. Best thing I ever did.
    Try and find a rural setting for ya rides if you can. Very relaxing, beautiful to look at and not as scary or embarrassing if you fall off! ;)
    Still thinking of something clever to say!
  • kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    Go for it, just don't forget rest days are important in building fitness.
  • Nice bike, I had a Carrera Kraken mountain bike and it was faultless. Good luck with the riding.
    "Great minds think a bike"
  • niallmo
    Thanks!