Comfortable Bike Seat

swebs8
swebs8 Posts: 2
edited October 2015 in Road beginners
Hello,

I am new to cycling, but just recently purchased a hybrid bike to ride with my wife on bike trails, streets, and commuting. The seat I have on my Trek bike is not very comfortable at all.

Does anyone have any suggestions on a comfortable bike seat? Obviously something that is not too hard, and comfortable enough to sit on if I do go on longer rides.

Thanks so much for the advice!

Comments

• ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    Not an easy answer as saddles are a very personal thing. Best thing to do is go to a bike shop and get your sit bones measured and then they will advise you the right width of saddle for you.

When choosing a saddle bear in mind that soft and squidgy feeling saddles is not best, especially if you are planning to be in the saddle for a while.

I currently have 3 bikes - after trying a few different saddles recently, I now have a Specialized Avatar saddle on my hybrid, and have Charge Scoops on my road bikes. I've also just bought a decent pair of bib shorts in a bid to hopefully be more comfortable in the saddle.

I'm also thinking of trying a Brooks leather saddle on my Audax steel bike - a bit more expensive and heavier, but the majority of reviews report that they are the most comfortable saddles.
  • drummer_boy
    drummer_boy Posts: 236
    Also bear in mind a saddle that is perfect for you on one bike may not be on another.

For example, some saddles are designed for a more racing body angle, and some more for upright riding positions.

I have 3 different bikes and 3 different saddles!
  • I also dislike bontrager saddles with a passion. They are horrible (at least for me).
    As others already said, saddles are a very personal thing, but there are some models that are usually praised as very comfortable like the Brooks B17 (I have one of these, and it is brilliant) and the Fabric Scoop.