Best GPS app with ability to upload routes

rflook
rflook Posts: 72
edited July 2015 in Road buying advice
Hi,

I am planning to cycle to my friends (80 mile journey which I have never done before) in a few days time and want to use an app on my phone for turn by turn verbal directions to ensure I don't have to keep getting my phone out of my pocket to check where the hell I am going.

I know I could do this with something like Google maps, but from what I can gather (on a phone anyway) you can't create a route for yourself and then get the app to follow that route. I know Garmin GPS devices can do this but (because I can't justify a bike GPS) I'd like to use my phone. Does anyone know of any apps which could fulfil these requirements?

Comments

• bomster
    bomster Posts: 202
    I know it doesn't hit the verbal criteria, but I've always found the navigation/route following on the Strava app itself to be decent.

For long rides I plug in a backup battery pack, and then set the screen to stay on.
  • wongataa
    wongataa Posts: 1,001
    For any phone app you will most likely have to create the route on a computer first. Apps to consider are RideWithGPS (cycling specific) and the various generic mapping/routing apps - maybe OSMand.

Whatever you go for the ability to preload your maps so you don't need a data connection is a good idea.
  • djwc
    djwc Posts: 39
    RidewithGPS is the one I use. If I'm going on a route I don't know / need navigation for, I download it to my phone (an option in the app) so if there's rubbish signal I'm still OK if lost.

I normally then put one headphone in, and it pings every time there's a direction change.... very much satnav style: "in 'x' yards / feet / metres turn left onto whatever street / road / lane.".

Very useful, and on the computer if you so desire, you can then download the data from your ride and upload the file to strava.
  • craigus89
    craigus89 Posts: 887