changing groupsets

dmolloy22
dmolloy22 Posts: 7
edited July 2015 in Workshop
So....

A few hours ago I asked a question about wheels and changing my brakes. I think in the hours that have passed Inhave talked myself in to replacing my tiagra groupset with 105's.

So my question really is as a total newbie to this, and with youtube and online help is it feasable for me to do this or will I really be needing my lbs to do for me??

Got an order for wheels and groupset ready to complete and just trying to work out if its a good idea or not!!

Comments

• DKay
    DKay Posts: 1,652
    Can you rewire a plug? If you're able to do this, then swapping over a groupset shouldn't pose any issues. You'll need a few additional tools on top of a decent set of allen keys, such as a cassette lockring tool, chain whip, Hollowtech 2 BB tool, chain breaker and some decent cable cutters.

Just take your time and be methodical and when it comes to your cables, measure twice, cut once. Alternatively, fit as much as you can and then get the LBS to sort the cables and chain out at the end and set up your indexing.
  • Matthewfalle
    Matthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    Simplest job on the world. First time round will take a couple of hours.

Undo each bit one at a time, replace with new bit. Offhand I don't think that anything is held on by more than one bolt.

Take your time, use the proper tools and its simples.

For things like lever height, as a quick cheat just draw around the current levers in Sharpie then put the new levers on within the same marks.
    Postby team47b » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:53 am

De Sisti wrote:
    This is one of the silliest threads I've come across. :lol:

Recognition at last Matthew, well done!, a justified honour :D
    smithy21 wrote:

He's right you know.
  • markhewitt1978
    markhewitt1978 Posts: 7,614