'New' Tandem owner - advice please (wheels, forks, cranks)

craker
craker Posts: 1,739
edited July 2015 in Workshop
tandem.jpg

'Aint she a beaut ;-) ?

Rescued from ebay this weekend we have a lovely 20kg Gitane tandem of unknown provenance.

Now I'm not pretending it's worth spending silly (any?) money on, I'm a newbie with tandems so if you could offer constructive advice I'd be grateful..

Mechanically the thing is in much better condition than it looks. All the threads and bolt heads seem OK, chain doesn't look like it's had much wear.

The wheels I believe are originals, they've got fantastically wide rims and weigh a fair bit. Any reason why I can't stick old MTB wheels on? The narrower rims would work better with some Schwalbe City Jets I've got hanging around. Of course I haven't worked out what to do with the 126mm spacing / six speed freewheel issue.

Next is the forks, which judder back and forth alarmingly under moderate braking. Should I try to replace them, would I have to look at Tandem specific forks?

Finally the cranks. I want shorter cranks so my 9 yo daughter can pedal, however the timing gear is attached to one side. Where do you get cranks with attached timing gears from? I haven't counted the teeth, 32 at a guess. Other options are drill and tapping new pedal locations in the crank arm or do a cut and shut job with an angle grinder and a friendly welder.

Thanks!

Comments

• andy_wrx
    andy_wrx Posts: 3,396
    Tandem wheels are (should be !) built stronger than usual to cope with the extra weight - 48 spoke is normal.
    However, modern MTB wheels are probably stronger than wheels were 20 years ago
    So if they fit, no reason why not

Similarly tandem forks are normally beefier to handle the extra weight.
    Front-end geometry is usually a bit slacker than on a solo as the extra weight makes the steering heavy otherwise.
    Now whether this is done on your frame by the headtube angle or the fork rake...measure it and see.