Another 1x10 thread...

TCottle
TCottle Posts: 65
edited July 2015 in MTB workshop & tech
Alright guys,

I've had my Cube Stereo for about a year now and recently trashed one of the teeth on the 38T chainring on my 2x10 XT set-up.

Seems a good excuse to go 1x10!

I am a total novice - I've read some guides and stuff out there, but wonder if I could have some advice!

So it is my intention to stick with the 11-36 cassette at the rear and go with a narrow-wide 32T chainring up front. I figure I can always add a 40/42T expander later?

So my shopping list is as follows;

- Race Face 32T Narrow Wide Chain Ring
- Steel Chainring Bolts
- Torx Keys
- Chainring Bolt Spanner

And for ease of chain fitting/removal;

- KMC 10-Speed Chain
- KMC Chain Connectors
- KMC Chain Link Remover

I understand one of the benefits to 1x10 is great chain retention, so I wouldn't necessarily need a chain guide - but what bout the spacing from where the old 24T chainring used to sit? Do I need to buy something to fill the gap?

My rear derailleur is a "Shimano XT, RD-M781-DGSL, Shadow 10-Speed, direct mount" - I gather I don't need to replace this? Or to I need a Shadow Plus derailleur?

Do I need to buy anything else!?

Sorry #noob

Thanks for your time :)

Comments

• codfather
    codfather Posts: 359