Rear rack for Calibre Two.Two Alloy Hardtail Mountain Bike

Rashomon
Rashomon Posts: 7
edited July 2015 in MTB buying advice
Hello,
I have recently started cycling to work. I have a 55 mile return commute, on road, cycle path (former tow path) and in town (no cycle lanes). I manage it in 2 hours 20 minutes in the morning and 2 hours 45 minutes in the evening (when I am more tired) but am hoping to build up speed. At the end of my morning journey, I also have to lift the bike over a fence, then climb the fence myself, and walk with it up a very steep hill through a grassy meadow (thank God no cattle so far), then more lifting over fences. That takes me a whole 15 minutes! In the evening I only have to walk with the bike downhill but that's hairy: I could tumble down like Prince George but I am afraid the bike would not like it. :lol:
I got a Calibre from Go Outdoors as it was in my budget and was comfortable enough for me to ride (I am not a proficient cyclist at all and have already ridden in Germany and the Netherlands in the past, on dedicated cycle paths in town - no hills either) and comfortable on the tow path (quite a few bumps and potholes). I have also taken it on proper mountain bike trails and it was fun, though muddy :) The brakes do not look very efficient though.
I need to eat a lot and there isn't anywhere I can buy food from near my workplace so I need to transport food from home every day. I am carrying it in a rucksack right now but it is taking a toll on my back. I want to fit in a rack and am hesitating between:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Topeak-MTX-Beam-Rack%C2%A0V-Type-Black/dp/B004BUC9OU/ref=sr_1_7?ie=UTF8&qid=1436218164&sr=8-7&keywords=topeak+rack
http://www.oldmanmountain.com/Pages/RackPages/RearRacks.html (the Sherpa)