deleted...

creamofthecrop
creamofthecrop Posts: 4
edited December 2019 in Road beginners

Comments

• napoleond
    napoleond Posts: 5,992
    Sounds like you didn't test your FTP properly.
    I find the best way to test it is from a 25 mile TT but short of that, a 20 minute test. (Google 20 minute FTP test...)
    As far as 5s power goes, sprinting is the best way for this. If you are just interested in the numbers then do it from a slow start. However I wouldn't bother working on this unless you are racing. I'd concentrate on just riding your bike for a while before worrying about specific numbers.
    Insta: ATEnduranceCoaching
    ABCC Cycling Coach
  • ai_1
    ai_1 Posts: 3,060
    Hello. I'm a week-old newbie to cycling.

I recently purchased a roadie with the Pioneer pedaling monitor system, and naturally I got hooked on numbers. Last week, I did a few all out effort on the street to measure my FTP, and the result was quite miserable 230W, considering my weight. However, I don't mind the FTPs right now because i'm pretty sure that the numbers will increase if my projects succeed(i.e. quit smoking and losing 70 lbs).

But I do mind the fact that my current maximum 1s/5s/15s power is kinda low (which was in the range of 1500-1550W/1450-1500W/1150-1200W respectively, from all 5 of my previous ridings) for my weight, and I want to increase them FAST because once I reach normal weight, I might not be able to renew the short-term power records. I know it is meaningless but I want to make some personal-records before I lose too much weight.