Help the noob to choose a right bike

povilasand
povilasand Posts: 12
edited July 2015 in MTB buying advice
Hey!
I am looking into starting MTB so I am looking for a bike.
As I am new in biking I don't want to make bad purchase and stick with the bike which I wouldn't like that's why I am asking your advice.
Just found used but almost like new Ghost Tacana 7. Could you guys comment on its parts? upgradability? frame?
As new it costs around 900 euros I could buy it for 600. Is it worth it?

LINK http://www.ghost-bikes.com/en/bikes-2012/bike-detail/tacana-7/

Any help is appreciated. Thank you.

Comments

• rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    Pretty good for €600. Slightly steep head tube angle might make it a little twitchy on rougher trails but good on more traditional xc rides.
  • povilasand
    Thanks for your reply! Could you comment on a fork? I realize its one of the key element as replacing it would be a costly upgrade. Will it hold for me and be a good? Rock Shox 30 Gold Solo Air.

Is in it good to have a steep headtube angle? I have read that some people told not to buy Decathlon Rockrider 560 because frame is not ant certain angle. Is that true?

Thanks. :)
  • rockmonkeysc
    It's a good fork but if you get in to more aggressive trail riding it will flex and make it difficult to hold a line. Very light and good damping.
    There is no right head tube angle. They vary between 72 degrees and 60 degrees. Steeper means less stability but sharp steering. Slack means stable but slow and heavy steering.
  • povilasand
    Ok I see. As I am new I assume this fork is more than enough for me. :)

I noticed one more bike for 650euros which is used but also like new:
    Cannondale Trail Sl2 26.
    Major aspect I am in doubt about it is that it has 26" wheels.
    I am quite tall guy - 6'1" and all the buzz about 27.5" and 29" makes me feel that 26" is not worth to get.
    However I never rode anything different than 26"