Tyre/Tube advice

minimansion
minimansion Posts: 2
edited July 2015 in Commuting general
Hi

This is going to be a straightforward one but im a total novice!

I got a Cannondale Bad Boy given to me a few weeks ago but have had loads of punctures (the cycle path/roads near me aren't great but still seems to happen twice a week)

The rims are Sunrims DS2 and read 622x24 on them and the tyre currently fitted is a Continental Gatorskin and reads 23mm. Should these tyres be getting this many punctures?

I was recommended a Schwalbe Marathon Plus. Are these as good as the reviews? Will they fit my bike & What size would i need? And would it take the same inner tubes as i have a stack of them

Hope some one can help

Thanks

Comments

• Underscore
    Underscore Posts: 730
    I've run Gatorskins before and, while not puncture proof, I found them to be pretty resistant to unscheduled deflations. If you are getting that number of punctures, I would rule out other causes first: is there something stuck in the tyre (thorn, flint shard, etc.) that is causing it? what type of puncture and where on the tube? Are you getting them on both wheels or just one of them?

If you do decide to change tyres, M+ is supposedly very heavy and slow rolling but pretty bomb-proof. You might want to consider the Schwalbe Durano Plus; these use the same sort of features but are a bit lighter and better rolling. I've no experience of either, however: just regurgitating what I've read on here!

HTH,

_
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    What is the nature of the hole in the tube, are they pinch flats or could you be trapping the tube under the tyre bead, are you checking the tyre carefully for whatever caused the previous puncture when attempting a repair? Have you checked the rim for any issue?
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • whoof