What smartphone to carry while riding?

riderlikehell87
riderlikehell87 Posts: 3
edited June 2015 in Road buying advice
Hi All,

I am a newbie in this forum, intermediate cyclist with a HASA COMP 3.0 MTB + HASA R3 Road bike based at Bangalore, India.
I often wondered what smartphone should be ideal to carry along with bars and stuff on long rides / off road rides? I don't want any phone that is heavier than 130-140 gms with casing. Also I don't want a phone larger than 4.9 inches in display size.

Cheers
Boon :)

Comments

• tlw1
    tlw1 Posts: 21,831
    I take my work one as I don't want to damage my personal one
  • my main concern is already bike is gonna be heavy (esp off road MTBs) and given the terrain + my body weight, so i wanna minimize the load wherever possible. that's why im very keen on a light weight and less space occupying smartphone...
    on a road bike...its not much of a worry coz myne is at 9.8 kilos ....but here too wud love to carry a lighter phone...my current phone weighs in at 190g ..dats right, 190gms !! :roll:
  • Why do you need to carry a phone?
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • homers_double
    homers_double Posts: 7,978
    I often wondered what smartphone should be ideal)

iPhone.
    Why do you need to carry a phone?

Strava.

/thread.
    Advocate of disc brakes.
  • 99thmonkey
    99thmonkey Posts: 667
    iPhone 6 Plus

Why? Incase I need to make or receive a call!
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    Why do you need to carry a phone?

That's not as daft a question as it sounds.

As a youth I cycled thousands of miles, sometimes away for 2 or 3 days at a time, and didn't take a mobile phone because they hadn't been invented. Never had to make a phone call in all that time.

More recently the only time I've needed to phone home because of a mechanical I found I had zero reception :roll:

So if you're seriously worried about weight, leave it at home.