Noob first buy! Help/Advice

Arbaaz11
Arbaaz11 Posts: 4
edited June 2015 in Road buying advice
Hello,

I'm a complete noob when it comes to cycling. However, i really wanna ride a road bike. And i've been thinking about buying one.

1. My first question is: Which of those two bikes is the best one??

http://archive.fujibikes.com/archivebikes.php?prodid=2792&prodname=Sportif%202.3%20C

or

http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-in/bikes/model/scr.0/18183/74944/

2. My second question: As i said, i am a complete noob and i do not have really much time to ride because of work and i'm quite taken up during weekends. I'm thinking about buying one of these two bikes mentioned abouve, solely for fun/because i really want to try a road bike. Can anybody of you advise me whether it is worth the while spending this kind of money for a bike in this situation? (Because it's costing me quite a lot, a quarter of my assets :( to be exact)

3. My third and last question: Is it really fun to ride a road bike in quite rough surfaces?? Can these two bikes handle rough surfaces well??

I look forward to your responses/advice and help :)

Thank you

Comments

• arlowood
    arlowood Posts: 2,561
    What's your budget. Can't find any pricing on either of the 2 bikes you have suggested. They look to be either 2013 or 2014 models so may be in short supply as new bikes,

Also for a noob the Giant's gearing is not particularly friendly with a standard 52/39 chainset and a 12-25 cassette. The worst thing you can do (apart from buying the wrong size) is to get a bike that is over geared for your abilities and you end up getting discouraged because you have to walk up too many steep hills.

Tell us what you want to spend and you will get a few more sensible answers
  • dj58
    dj58 Posts: 2,222