'14 Boardman Team Carbon...click, click, click

CypriotSid
CypriotSid Posts: 5
edited June 2015 in Workshop
Hi All,

Sorry that my first post has to be a negative one, but it is borne out of sheer frustration and I hope some knowledgeable folk, will be able to assist. :D

I live overseas. A few years back I suffered a family tragedy that led to depression - don't worry, i won't go into details. Eventually a year or so ago, I decided to 'get in' to cycling, for a personal goal. I have really grown into it and find being out and about a great motivator. I decided to take it further and step up to a decent road bike. On my budget, reading all reviews, the 2014 Boardman Team Carbon seemed to tick all the boxes. So, against better judgement (I'm an accountant and hate spending money!) I took the plunge and spent my £1k.

The first ride - awesome........thereafter, I have been without the bike more that I have had it. From the second ride onwards, every rotation of the pedals has been accompanied by a very loud 'click', when the left pedal is pushed down. I know the noise is increased due to the carbon resonating, but people turn and look from 50m away! It's blooming annoying and increases under extra load/uphill.

I have taken the bike back to the importer twice. He has been very helpful, changed the bearings re-greased etc and sent me on my way. Each time thereafter, 1k into a new ride, the clicking is back. It does not stop. He has promised he will get to the bottom of it, but i don't think he gets my concern that a £1k bike has an issue that he says 'will get sorted and its ok to ride'. For me, the noise should not be there.

I have done some research and all that pops up are known issues with BB30? He says its not this as the bearings have been changed? I am no expert, but I don't agree. It's an FSA set up as standard from Halfords.

https://youtu.be/H-_u3Bis8CY